Communication Academic News

Andrew Allegretta, from the Department of Communication, was named 2018 Virginia Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sports Media Association. Allegretta is the assistant director of broadcasting at Virginia Tech and teaches sports journalism. He provides the radio play-by-play for women’s basketball and baseball on the Virginia Tech IMG Sports Network.

Carlos Evia, an associate professor in the Department of Communication, published Creating Intelligent Content with Lightweight DITA (New York, New York: Routledge, 2018).

In addition, Evia served as the lead author of “Lightweight DITA: An Introduction,” a committee note published by the Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards.

Carlos Evia, an associate professor in the Department of Communication, co-edited a special issue of Communication Design Quarterly, with Rebekka Andersen.

The issue, 6.3 (2018), deals with the topic of preparing technical communication professionals for today and the future. The journal is a research publication of the Association for Computing Machinery Special Interest Group on Design of Communication.

LaDale Winling, an associate professor in the Department of History, in collaboration with Robert Nelson and Justin Madron from the University of Richmond, launched an interactive website, “Electing the House of Representatives, 1840–2016.”

Assisting with the project were undergraduate Jennalee Beazley, international studies, Spanish, and economics; L. T. Wilkerson, a master’s student in history; and the following CLAHS alumnae: undergraduate history majors Caitlin Brown, Victoria Fowler, and Rachel Snyder; international relations major Sarah Rouzer; and graduate students Carmen Bolt, Alexandra Dowrey, and Rebecca Williams, who completed a master’s degree in history.

The College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, the Department of History, and the Virginia Center for Civil War Studies helped fund this project with grants for research and data work.

The article “The Syrian Civil War, International Outreach, and a Clash of Worldviews,” first published in The Kenneth Burke Journal 11.2 (2016), n.p., by Jim A. Kuypers, a professor in the Department of Communication, and Peter Bakke, was selected for inclusion in Best of the Journals in Rhetoric and Composition 2017, ed. Kate Vieira, Vincent Portillo, Jason Luther, David Blakesley, and Steve Parks (Anderson, South Carolina: Parlor Press, 2018), pp. 210–40.

The Department of Communication was the recipient of a $100,000 pledge from alumnus Will Stewart to create an endowed scholarship to support students in the department’s sports media and analytics program. Stewart is the founder of, a website devoted to Virginia Tech athletics. Sports Media and Analytics was approved as a degree option in Multimedia Journalism in 2017.

An EcoCAR 3 team from Virginia Tech comprised of Department of Communication majors and College of Engineering students won first-place honors in overall project management, closeout report, execution plan, vehicle handling, 0–60 mph acceleration, emissions, energy consumption, well-to-wheel criteria emissions, and autocross, where drivers test vehicle handling and performance on a closed course; they also placed second in several other events, posting a fourth-place finish overall.

The competition was sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and General Motors.

The following faculty and staff were recognized at the Virginia Tech Employee Development Certificate Program ceremony for completion of requirements for one or more programs during the 2017–2018 academic year: Administrative Professional Development Program Certificate: Wanda McAlexander, School of Education; Diversity Advocate Certificate: Christy Dillon, School of Education, Dawn Knight-Withers, School of Education, Amanda Villar, Department of Religion and Culture; Diversity Ally Certificate: Dawn Knight-Withers, School of Education, Adrianne Pinkney, School of Education, Amanda Villar, Department of Religion and Culture; Diversity Ambassador Certificate: Sally Shupe, Department of English; and Office Software Skills Certificate: Demetria Harris, Department of Communication.