History Academic News

Peter Wallenstein, a professor from the Department of History, published “The Morrill Land-Grant College Act of 1862: Seedbed of the American System of Public Universities,” Civil War Congress and the Creation of Modern America: A Revolution on the Home Front, ed. Paul Finkelman and Donald Kennon (Athens, Ohio: Ohio University Press, 2018), pp. 82–117.

Circulating Now, the blog of the Historical Collections of the National Library of Medicine, posted three papers about Russian influenza research by Tom Ewing, a professor in the Department of History and associate dean for Graduate Studies and Research; Andrew Pregnall, a senior history and microbiology major; and 2018 alumni Ian Hargreaves, German and international studies; Jessica King, communication and international studies; and Tyler Talnagi, German and international studies. “Revealing Data: Using Term Frequency to Chart Influenza Reporting,” “Revealing Data: Measuring Mortality During an Epidemic,” and “Revealing Data: Close Reading and Textual Analysis as Historical Methods” were posted on November 14, 15, and 16 respectively.

The research was completed in the summer of 2017 and presented in July 2017 at a seminar hosted by the History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine.

Paul Quigley, the James I. Robertson, Jr. Associate Professor of Civil War History in the Department of History and director of the Virginia Center for Civil War Studies, and James Hawdon, director of the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention from the Department of Sociology, edited Reconciliation after Civil Wars: Global Perspectives, Routledge Studies in Modern History (London and New York: Routledge, 2018). Quigley’s individual contribution to the volume was the introduction, “Reconciliation: Civil War by Other Means,” pp. 1–13; that of Hawdon was the final chapter, “United We Heal, Divided We Reconcile: Group Solidarity and the Problem of Status after Civil Conflicts” pp. 251–64.

Jeff Felton, a master’s student in the Department of History, published “Early’s Tarheels: The North Carolina Soldier in the Shenandoah Valley, June–November, 1864,” Journal of the Shenandoah Valley During the Civil War 2 (2019): 67–87.

Brett Shadle, a professor in the Department of History, published “Refugees in African History,” A Companion to African History, ed. William Worger, Charles Ambler, and Nwando Achebe (Hoboken, New Jersey: Wiley, 2018), pp. 247–64.

LaDale Winling, an associate professor in the Department of History, in collaboration with Robert Nelson and Justin Madron from the University of Richmond, launched an interactive website, “Electing the House of Representatives, 1840–2016.”

Assisting with the project were undergraduate Jennalee Beazley, international studies, Spanish, and economics; L. T. Wilkerson, a master’s student in history; and the following CLAHS alumnae: undergraduate history majors Caitlin Brown, Victoria Fowler, and Rachel Snyder; international relations major Sarah Rouzer; and graduate students Carmen Bolt, Alexandra Dowrey, and Rebecca Williams, who completed a master’s degree in history.

The College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, the Department of History, and the Virginia Center for Civil War Studies helped fund this project with grants for research and data work.

John Legg, a master’s student in the Department of History, received the William E. Lass Award for his paper, “From Mankato to New Ulm: The Issues of Public Memory and the U.S.–Dakota War of 1862,” which he presented at the Northern Great Plains History Conference, which was held September 20–22 in Mankato, Minnesota. The award recognizes the best paper in Minnesota history at the conference.

A group of eighteen students enrolled in a history research seminar taught by Robert Stephens, an associate professor in the Department of History, authored and edited Welcome to the Beatles. The volume is accessible online as an eBook through VT Publishing and includes the following chapters by CLAHS students: “When the Beatles Played Businessmen: The Story of Apple Records,” Jason Arquette, Professional and Technical Writing, Literature and Language, and History; “Astrid Kirchherr: Forever with the Beatles,” Cecilia Burger, History and Political Science; “Revolution 9: Yoko Ono and Anti-Feminism,” Shelby Canonico, Curriculum and Instruction; “The Show Must Go On: The Beatles’ Lasting Influence on Shea Stadium,” Helen Goggins, History; “The Beatles and the Government: A Relationship with the Aristocracy and the British Monarchy,” Brady Hess, Multimedia Journalism and History; “The Beatles Nay-Sayers: Evangelical Backlash to the Beatles and the Counterculture,” Nicholas Hoy, History; “Television and the Beatles: The Early Shows,” Scottie Lynch, History; “‘I’d Give You Everything I’ve Got for a Little Peace of Mind’: The Beatles and Personal Security,” Karson Lyon, History; “The Rise of the Beatles and the Fall of Vee-Jay Records: The Politics of Racism in the 1960s Music Industry,” Allyson Manhart, History and Political Science; “The Beatles on the Big Screen: Help!” by Jimmy Meehan, History and Political Science; “Let it Stream: The Beatles and the Age of Music Streaming,” Kenny Miller, History and Classical Studies; “I’m Just Happy to Dance with You: How the Beatles Became Civil Rights Activists,” Patrick O’Dell, History; “The Rooftop Concert: The Lasting Effects of the Concert on the Beatles’ Legacy,” Richard Pedro, Political Science; “‘You Say You Want a Revolution’: Analyzing the Political Aesthetics of the Beatles’ Album Covers,” Andrew Pregnall, History and Microbiology; “Music and Meditation: How the Beatles Brought Indian Culture to the West,” Matthew Remson, History; “‘We Are Never Going Back’: The Beatles in the Philippines,” Iris Swaney, History; “‘Go Home Beatles! Have a Haircut!’: Postwar Japan’s Backlash against the Fab Four,” Delanie Tarvin, History; and “The Beginning of the End: The Klan’s America,” Trey Wells, History and Political Science. Arquette, Goggins, Manhart, and Pregnall served as editors of the volume.


The Department of History has become co-publisher of The Smithfield Review with the Smithfield-Preston Foundation.

In addition to financial support, the department provides a historical advisor. Daniel Thorp, associate professor of history and associate dean of Undergraduate Academic Affairs, serves in this capacity and also is a member of the editorial board.