Janet Abbate, a professor from the Department of Science, Technology, and Society, published “Code Switch: Changing Constructions of Computer Expertise as Empowerment,” Technology and Culture 59 (2018): S132–S157.

Barbara Allen, a professor in the Department of Science, Technology, and Society, published “Strongly Participatory Science and Knowledge Justice in an Environmentally Contested Region,” Science, Technology and Human Values 43.6 (2018): 947–71.

Christine Labuski, an associate professor in the Department of Sociology, and Philip Olson, an associate professor in the Department of Science, Technology, and Society, published “‘There’s Always a [White] Man in the Loop’: The Gendered and Racialized Politics of Civilian Drones,” Social Studies of Science 48.4 (2018): 540–63.

From June 12 to 15 Barbara Allen, professor of Science, Technology, and Society, conducted a seminar, “Introduction to Community-Based Participatory Research,” to introduce researchers to community-based participatory research for health. The four-day training event was hosted at the Institute for Advanced Study (IMéRA) in Marseille, France. Assisting Allen was the rest of the Fos “Etude participative en santé environnement ancrée localement” (Locality-based Participatory Environmental Health Survey) research team. The training was available at no cost to the 20 French researchers and public health officials who participated, thanks to support from the Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire de l’alimentation, de l’environnement et du travail (Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health).

Daniel Breslau, an associate professor and chair of the Department of Science, Technology, and Society, was interviewed for a report titled “Blockchain Technology Could Revolutionize More than the Financial World,” which was broadcast on WVTF, the local National Public Radio affiliate, on May 25.

The college is pleased to announce the following tenure and promotion decisions by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors at its June 6 meeting.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure were: Danna Agmon, History and ASPECT Core Faculty; Amy Azano, School of Education; María del Carmen Caña Jiménez, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures; Jason Crafton, School of Performing Arts; Erika Grafsky, Human Development and Family Science; Stefanie Hofer, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures; Eunju Hwang, Apparel, Housing, and Resource Management; Benjamin Jantzen, Philosophy; Melanie Kiechle, History; Christine Labuski, Sociology; Philip Olsen, Science, Technology, and Society; Dustin Read, Apparel, Housing, and Resource Management; Nadine Sinno, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures; Trevor Stewart, School of Education; Catherine Ulrich, School of Education; LaDale Winling, History; and Haiyan Zhu, Sociology.

Promoted to the rank of professor in the past academic year were: Janet Abbate, Science, Technology, and Society; April Few-Demo, Human Development and Family Science; Matthew Gabriele, Religion and Culture; James Ivory, Communication; Gerard Lawson, School of Education; Heidi Anne Mesmer, School of Education; Lydia Patton, Philosophy; Tina Savla, Human Development and Family Science; and John Wells, School of Education.

Also recognized with promotion were the following: Joseph Scallorns, English, to senior instructor; Matthew Goodrum, Science, Technology, and Society, to collegiate associate professor; and Peggy Quesenberry, Apparel, Housing, and Resource Management, to collegiate assistant professor.

A Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Science degree program in Science, Technology, and Society were approved by the Board of Visitors at its June meeting. The programs, which will help students develop new ways of understanding and intervening in the relationship of science and technology to society, will begin in Spring 2019, pending approval of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.

The following graduate students in the college presented papers at the Human Futures and Intelligent Machines Summit, hosted by the Center for Humanities at Virginia Tech June 7–9: Joshua Earle, Science, Technology, and Society, “Morphology Freedom”; Mario Khreiche, ASPECT, “Microlabor as Automation in Amazon Mechanical Turk”; Emma Stamm, ASPECT, “The Unthinkable:  Data, Mentality and Politics”; and Damien Williams, “Values and Interdisciplinarity in Technological Design.”

Ashley Shew, an associate professor in the Department of Science, Technology, and Society, was awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER Grant for $441,426 for “Disability, Experience, and Technological Imagination.”

The project focuses on discrepancies between how scientists and engineers understand and explain their work related to disability and the actual needs and wants of people with disabilities.

As part of the grant, Shew will work with colleagues in the College of Engineering in 2019 through Virginia Tech’s STEMABILITY, a summer camp for students with disabilities.

The following students were recipients of grant support for undergraduate research in 2017–2018.

Awarded Travel Grants were: Madison Arnsbarger, a senior Sociology and Economics major, “Modeling Response Times to Structure Fires” at the Data Science for the Social Good Conference, which was held September 28–29 in Chicago, Illinois; and Nala Chehade, a senior History and International Studies major, “The Politics of Palestinian Production: Self-Portrayals of Palestinian Refugees in Film” at the conference titled “Critical Junctures Crossing Borders: Spaces, Times, Forms,” which was held April 13–14 at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. Chehade also received a Research Grant for “Paint and Politics: Analyzing the Arab Spring through Beirut’s Graffiti.”

In addition, the following departments were provided support: English for Undergraduate Research Conference; History for Undergraduate Research Showcase; Religion and Culture for Undergraduate Research Symposium; and Science, Technology, and Society for Undergraduate Research Day.